Safe Vehicles

Most vehicle crashes can be attributed to driver error, rather than vehicle defects. Australian research has shown that less than 3% of fatal crashes could be attributed to vehicle condition, and half of these were related to tyre faults, a type of defect which can be readily identified in random inspections of the type undertaken in the ACT.

The ACT participates in national forums developing and maintaining standards for new vehicles entering the Australian market. The Australian Design Rules (ADRs) are rules for designing and building vehicles and are developed through a  consultative process involving government and industry representatives.

The Australian Vehicle Standards Rules 1999 set standards that vehicles must comply with before being driven on public roads and road related areas. These Rules require that a vehicle that is subject to an ADR when built or imported must continue to comply with that ADR. These national standards are adopted in the ACT through the Road Transport (Vehicle Registration) Regulation 2000.

The ACT has a continuing vehicle inspection program, which includes random on-road and car park vehicle inspections. Vehicle inspections are also required on first registration in the ACT, to clear a defect notice, on transfer of registration for light vehicles over six years of age, for heavy vehicles (every two years) and for taxis and hire cars (annually).


Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) 

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) is Australasia's leading independent vehicle safety advocate. 

ANCAP provides Australian and New Zealand consumers with independent vehicle safety information through the publication of ANCAP safety ratings.  ANCAP safety ratings take into account the level of occupant and pedestrian protection provided by new cars through the conduct of physical crash tests and the assessment of collision avoidance technologies. 

The more stars, the better the vehicle performed in ANCAP tests.  To achieve the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating, a vehicle must achieve the highest standards in all tests and feature advanced safety assist technologies. 

Since 1992, ANCAP has published crash test results for a wide range of new passenger and light commercial vehicle makes, models and variants sold in Australia and New Zealand. 

ANCAP is supported by all Australian and New Zealand motoring clubs, the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government, Australian state and territory governments, the Victorian Transport Accident Commission, NRMA Insurance and the FIA Foundation. 

To search individual crash test results for more than 515 vehicles, learn more about safety features and technologies, and explore interactive features, visit  

1 to 5 star comparison

ancap tests


Safer First Car

There is a lot to consider when purchasing your first car and it is important that you are making safe vehicle choices. To make this a little easier, you can find a list of safe and affordable vehicles in the Safer First Car fact sheet that all hold a five-star ANCAP safety rating.